Diet pop, diet coke?


A few years ago Superbowl XL was held in Detroit. I was living in Windsor at the time and working for the catering company that had all of the Canadian major media events.

There was this one event in particular that was held at the Windsor Art Gallery. Media coverage was there, Canadian and local celebrities were there, as well as the former Governor General of Canada(or so I was told – regardless he was a friendly, prestigious looking proper man with grey hair).

Obviously it wasn’t this guy…

Because I was one of their best servers and had the most experience (I went to school for hospitality), I was put in charge of taking care of what ever the former Governor General’s table wanted.

So…I took their drink order. At the table was the GG, the Mayor of Windsor and two other people who I had no idea who they were. I started with the ladies and worked my way around. They ordered a glass of wine, a ginger-ale, the GG ordered a rum and coke (I think) and the mayor ordered a diet pop – who orders a diet pop? So, I translated the order in my mind to a diet coke.

As I stood beside the GG, my next step was to repeat the order back to them to ensure that I had it correct. I said:

“Ok, that’s a glass of red wine, a ginger-ale, a rum and coke and a diet cock

Mortified, my face flushed. No one laughed, they all looked at me in disgust, except the Governor General. He laughed. I patted his shoulder, said thank you and pretty much ran away.

What’s that all about? Who says the C-word to someone who represents the QUEEN? I still can’t believe I accidentally said that. I swear I have manners.

Leave a Reply

