The pretty one?


When I was 20 years old, my friend Meghan told me that she wanted to introduce me to a guy that she worked with at the gym (I’m going to call him Joel for the sake of this post). This was not how I typically liked to meet people at the time, but she told me he was really hot, so I thought I’d give it a try.

Earlier in the day, he popped over to mine and Meghan’s house (to size me up). He seemed very nice, very attractive (beef cake muscle-y kinda hot), but he had gold hoop earrings on. At that point in my life wearing gold in jeneral was a bad idea, it was as bad as having a silver gangsta chain on. That said, I realized I was being a total a-hole and thought I’d still give it a shot.

When we were at the bar, Joel mentioned to me that he had a kid and that his kid was the second child of a girl I had been acquainted with when I was younger.

Strike 1 – gold earrings

Strike 2 – somebodies ‘baby daddy’

Strike 3 – 2-ish kids under the age of 21…wowzers

So, because I was WAY too immature to become someones step momma, I wrote the guy off as a ‘potential’, and just had a good time with him.

At the end of the night we were at the bar, when Joel said to me:

“You know…you’re the first girl to turn me down.” What’s that all about?

You’re the first girl to turn me down? You have a baby with someone, who has two babies, you’re under 21 and you’re saying this to me? WTF!

I looked at Joel and responded:

“Joel, if we were to date you would be the pretty one. If I’m in a relationship, I want to be the pretty one.”

I know that’s a weird response, but it was the first thing that came to mind. Besides, not many girls want to date men that are prettier than them. We should take longer to get ready than they should. JS-ing.

He looked at me, smiled and said, “yeah, I can see that.”

All I can say is: WOW. Needless to say, I did not let Meg set me up with anyone after that.

One response to “The pretty one?

  1. Amazing!
    I agree…I want to be the pretty one!

Leave a Reply

